home calendar biography discography press photos videos awards
  discography/francisco's song

cd cover - francisco's song credits

Hilario Durán - piano
Jane Bunnett - flute (tracks 1 and 5) and soprano saxophone (tracks 4, 12 and 13)
Alain Caron - bass (tracks 1, 6, 8, 11 and 13)
Sonny Greenwich - guitar (tracks 1, 7, 11 and 13)


1. Francisco's Song - 6:31
2. Medley Matamoros - 3:41
3. Lush Life - 6:07
4. For Emiliano (In Memory Of Emiliano Salvador) - 9:24
5. Esto Sí Tiene Que Ver (You Must See This) - 5:15
6. Giant Steps - 2:00
7. Confesión - 5:15
8. Tiembla Tierra - 5:37
9. Suavecito - 5:46
10. Conqueta Conquín (In Memory Of Evaristo Aparicio) - 4:29
11. Days Dreams - 5:21
12. Esperando La Carroza (Waiting For The Float) - 4:36
13. Hot House - 3:30

liner notes

After studying music at The Amadeo Roldán Conservatory in Havana in 1981, Hilario joined Arturo Sandoval's group where he stayed until 1990. During this time he performed as a jazz pianist at major jazz festivals around the world, sharing stages with such outstanding musicians as Dizzy Gillespie, Herbie Hancock, Michel Legrand, Wynton Marsalis and many others. Hilario has worked as musical arranger, producer and pianist on many recordings with a variety of artists in Cuba and abroad. When Arturo Sandoval left Cuba, Hilario began his own group and truely came into his own. In 1991 he joined Gonzalo Rubalcaba and Frank Emilio on Jane Bunnett's Juno Award winning CD "Spirits of Havana".

"I would like to thank Jane Bunnett and Larry Cramer for the great support that they gave me and their entire help in making my record possible.

My thanks to Jim West for trusting me to perform in this project.

Thanks to Sarah Bunnett-Gibson for her patience and dedication, to Thompson Highway for letting me use his own piano generously, to Chucho Valdés for the support and help throughout all my professional career. Also thanks to Alain Caron for offering all his talent on this record, to Sonny Greenwich for the possibility of working together, and to Denis Cadieux and Ian Terry for their great ears.

I dedicate this album to the memory of Emiliano Salvador and all the pianists in Cuba, and to all the Cuban musicians to keep maintaining their roots all over the world."

Hilario Durán

"Hilario Durán es un excelente pianista además de ser un compositor y orquestador de primer órden. Este CD es una muestra de su brillantez, originalidad y talento creativo. Disfruten de este formidable CD interpretado por uno de los más grandes pianistas cubanos del siglo XX..." Chucho Valdés

francisco's song | killer tumbao | habana nocturna | havana remembered
new danzon | encuentro en la habana | from the heart | motion | cuban rhapsody

home | calendar | biography | discography | press | photos | videos | awards
  Web Design, Photography, Audio-Video Streaming by: Latin Jazz Network